Been reading prompts from Lillie McFerrin Writes (lilliemcferrin.com) and found a few minutes (WHAT? How did THAT happen?) to try one today! Lillie issues a five-sentence story prompt via my email. Today I jumped into a story that dictated itself to me – which turned out to be quite unlike the photo on her website…but here it is:

WAVES…..5 Sentence Fiction……..Virginia Nygard 6/23/15

I sit in the dust outside Mabel’s Beauty Parlor while Mama sits inside getting a Marcel wave.

She come out so beautiful I bet the stars will hide in shame tonight… just like me.

Picking her way ‘cross the wooden sidewalk, she pats my head, kisses my cheek and then sashays to the shiny Ford Model A, just panting at the curb for her.

Mr. James Windsor Whitehorn don’t never come ‘cross the tracks unless he come to pick up Mama for doing the town, like he say.

I know what you be doing, my eyes say whilst I wave them away into the night.

(There you go. Hey, I write only what my characters tell me to!)

